Subscribe
Register | Log in

Information regarding semi-perm Camps for retiree

• Nigel Soden
    Nigel Soden on

Having lost my wife in January (2021) I find myself boxed in memories that is creating unnecessary melancholia. I spent two weeks in Fish Hoek as an attempt to break that condition and loved every minute of it and came to the conclusion that I need to pursue a more permanent solution of which is to travel until eternity draws my card.

I seek information either via internet ( not been successful so far ) or through referrals were I can find camps that cater for short term duration ( 2/6 months ). I have been a artist almost my whole life thou not as a profession, to paint as I travel through SA enjoying what’s left of my life.

Finance is a factor as I have limited resources and will be traveling using a normal vehicle with a trailer equipped for camping in minimalist way.

Simon Tasman
    Simon Tasman on

As far as I know Imhoff Park in Kommetjie is the only resort in the Cape Town area that offers unlimited duration stays. All the others (Belleville excluded) are run by the municipality and not particularly user-friendly.

Richards Bay offers a good monthly pensioner rate all year-round except during the December holiday time.

Oasis in Uvongo also has a pretty good all-year pensioner rate. (Assuming Ed is still the owner)

Nigel Soden
    Nigel Soden on

Thank you for the prompt reply.

Roy McEwen
    Roy McEwen on

My wife and I often spend a month at Tugel Mouth caravan park. They accept long termers at very reasonable rates throughout the year except December. We met other long termers who were there for 6 months. Very good place to winter. Warm good weather. Close to the beach. Speak to Yolanda or James. 0828036339

Blackie Swart
    Blackie Swart on