Subscribe
Register | Log in

Camping Fridges reviews

Return to: Caravans, Motorhomes & Trailers

Come chat with us in the forum. Click here to register an account or if you are already registered click here to log in.

• Profile Photo
    Andy CampbellParticipant

Are there any up to date reviews available for best options for camping fridges please?

• Profile Photo
    Johan Wessels
    Johan Wessels on

Haven’t seen any for quite a while now and it was always quite a controversial topic.

Personally I have been using my 40lt 3-way Dometic fridge\freezer for some 7 years now and have never been let down as yet. Our longest trip was Cape Town, Namibia, Botswana and back.

No need for a duel battery system, solar chargers etc.

Whilst travelling used the car battery to run the fridge/freezer

Whilst camping used 220v campsite supply

When no electricity at the camp site used gas.

A 5kg gas bottle can last me up to 4 days continuous 24 hr use with my Dometic.

So I found this combination suited me just fine.

The only modification I made was to fit a small “computer” type fan below the radiator coils at the back of the fridge to improve air flow to remove excess heat on some of those very hot days (>30 degrees C). Other wise the freezer section kept the frozen stuff frozen and the fridge prevented the milk going sour,l meat fresh but more importantly I always had a cold beer on my arrival at each camp site.

Hope you find something suitable

Cheers

Johan

Profile Photo
    Simon Tasman
    Simon Tasman on

I also have a Dometic absorption fridge in my caravan, and it works OK until you look at the energy wastage compared to a compressor fridge.

Using your figures of 5kg of gas every 4 days, that works out to 1,25kg per day, or 57,5MJ per day.