Subscribe
Register | Log in

Camping Fridges reviews

• Andy Campbell
    Andy Campbell
    Andy Campbell on

Are there any up to date reviews available for best options for camping fridges please?

Johan Wessels
    Johan Wessels
    Johan Wessels on

Haven’t seen any for quite a while now and it was always quite a controversial topic.

Personally I have been using my 40lt 3-way Dometic fridge\freezer for some 7 years now and have never been let down as yet. Our longest trip was Cape Town, Namibia, Botswana and back.

No need for a duel battery system, solar chargers etc.

Whilst travelling used the car battery to run the fridge/freezer

Whilst camping used 220v campsite supply

When no electricity at the camp site used gas.

A 5kg gas bottle can last me up to 4 days continuous 24 hr use with my Dometic.

So I found this combination suited me just fine.

The only modification I made was to fit a small “computer” type fan below the radiator coils at the back of the fridge to improve air flow to remove excess heat on some of those very hot days (>30 degrees C). Other wise the freezer section kept the frozen stuff frozen and the fridge prevented the milk going sour,l meat fresh but more importantly I always had a cold beer on my arrival at each camp site.

Hope you find something suitable

Cheers

Johan

Simon Tasman
    Simon Tasman
    Simon Tasman on

I also have a Dometic absorption fridge in my caravan, and it works OK until you look at the energy wastage compared to a compressor fridge.

Using your figures of 5kg of gas every 4 days, that works out to 1,25kg per day, or 57,5MJ per day.

A compressor fridge on the other hand draws 3A from the 12V supply, with an average duty cycle of about 50%, which works out to 3(A) x 12(V) x 12(h) x 3600(J/h) = 1,5MJ per day, or 2,5% of the absorption fridge’s power consumption.

The only advantage of the absorption fridge is that it can run on gas. That’s nice to have, but it’s also a very expensive nice-to-have.