Subscribe

2005 Echo 4 trailer

Return to: Caravans, Motorhomes & Trailers

Come chat with us in the forum. Click here to register an account or if you are already registered click here to log in.

• Profile Photo
    Emma Poupard
    Participant

I am looking at buying a 2005 echo trailer.  It has loads of extras and upgrades but i am a bit worried about the age of the trailer itself. It looks in good shape but i am no expert.  What kind of things should i be checking in a trailer this old.  Any suggestions?

• Profile Photo
    Anton Fourie
    Anton Fourie on

I’ve never seen any corrosion on an Echo. The mattresses are good and structurally Echo’s are very sound. The wheel bearings might be in need of replacement, if it hasn’t been done before. The electric panels on the 2005 were very basic, but most owners upgraded them. The 2005 didn’t come standard with a pump, that might set you back quite a bit. The nose cone is not very practical to get a fridge in there. The corner stands are not very good and it is a mission to level the trailer on uneven ground. A good friend has an Echo 4 and he loves it, except for getting the tent cover back as it is very tight.

Profile Photo
    Peter Strauber
    Peter Strauber on

The age of the tyres must be checked. Also check the wheel bearings and ensure that the brakes work well. The Echo 4 is a very sturdy trailer and I love mine. It didn’t come with a lot of standard equipment  so extras will really enhance a very comfortable trailer. I’ve used my 2006 model now for 10 years and the only “issues” I had were wheel bearing failures. I removed the standard gas stove as I found that cooking breakfast require a lot of cleaning to be done on the inside of the trailer. The plastic “saddle bags” are a pain, a sturdier option will be a big improvement. I’ve added proper corner jacks to make it easier to level the trailer.

Profile Photo
    Robert Anderson
    Robert Anderson on